Lifestyle Portal
  •   १० आश्विन २०७८, आईतवार

General MM Naravane, COAS of Indian Army Conferred Honorary Rank of General of Nepali Army

२० कार्तिक २०७७, बिहीबार १७:१६

Kathmandu | The Chief of Army Staff Indian Army, General MM Naravane was conferred the honorary rank of General of the Nepali Army by Rt Hon. Smt. Bidya Devi Bhandari, President of Nepal, on 5th November 2020. He was honored at a special ceremony at the President’s official residence ‘Shital Niwas’ in Kathmandu. He has also presented a sword and scroll during the function. The ceremony was attended by the Indian Ambassador Mr. Vinay M. Kwatra and other senior officials of both countries.

The practice follows a seven-decade-old tradition of conferring Army Chiefs of each other’s country with the honorary title. Commander-in-Chief General KM Cariappa was the first Indian Army Chief to be decorated with the title in 1950. In January last year, Chief of Nepali Army, General Purna Chandra Thapa, was also made the honorary General of the Indian Army by President Ram Nath Kovind at a ceremony in New Delhi.

Following the ceremony, General MM Naravane called on the President of Nepal Rt. Hon. Mrs. Bidya Devi Bhandari. He was accompanied by Ambassador Vinay M. Kwatra. During the meeting with the Hon’ble President, General Naravane conveyed his gratitude for the honor bestowed upon him and also discussed measures to further enhance bilateral cooperation.

Photos: Embassy of India, Kathmandu

प्रतिक्रिया दिनुहोस !
Loading comments...
सम्बन्धित खबरहरु

The 15th India-Nepal combined battalion level military training exercise ‘SURYA KIRAN’ commenced at Pithoragarh (Uttarakhand) today and will continue till

The 4th Joint Project Monitoring Committee on Strengthening of Road Infrastructure in the Terai area of Nepal was held today

On 16th September 2021, the newly constructed building of Shree Bagmati Lower Secondary School, Liti Khola, Phaparbari, Makwanpur, was built

Embassy of India, Kathmandu is celebrating Hindi Fortnight from 14-28 September, 2021, as a part of “Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav”,